Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on January 22, 2013 by pNut

New Reel Big Fish!

Posted in Uncategorized on August 30, 2012 by TonyRad

I’m sure everybody has heard the HUGE news about Reel Big Fish’s new album “Candy Coated Fury” but have you seen the new official music video for the new song on the album, “I Dare You To Break My Heart”? Or how about the fan created animated music video for “I Know You To Well To Like You Anymore”?  Check em both out below!

If you haven’t heard of “Candy Coated Fury”, it is a pretty decent album and worth a listen.

Somebody The Waffle Stompers Used To Know

Posted in Uncategorized on August 27, 2012 by TonyRad

I know we’re all getting tired of all the covers of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” but how about a cover of Walk Off The Earth’s cover of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” on ukulele?!

Fortunately, our friends, The Waffle Stompers, are the kind of awesome guys who would do something awesome like that. Check out the  Walk Off The Earth/Gotye cover and their original music video below. If you dig them, they have more music and a kickstarter project.

Western Standard Time

Posted in Uncategorized on May 21, 2012 by TonyRad

The Skatalites are one of the most iconic and influential bands in the history of ska. They have released numerous studio, live, collaboration, and live albums throughout the many years together and have played for years, with band members coming and going, some longer than others. And they are still releasing new albums and going on new tours.

And now, the sounds of the Skatalites are being played by a powerful big band filled with some of the top musicians of today.

Western Standard Time (named in honor of “Eastern Standard Time”) has just recently released a new album, “A Big Band Tribute To The Skatalites“. This album features 10 of the Skatalites top hits with an amazing big band sound and feel.

Check out the studio promo below for more information about “A Big Band Tribute To The Skatalites” and to hear Western Standard Time’s big band take on “Guns of Navarone”.

We Do The Ska!

Posted in Uncategorized on April 23, 2012 by TonyRad

I’ve been a big fan of Chris Murray for some time now and I think his music videos capture the sound and feel perfectly. His newest music video for “We Do The Ska” is no exception. I love the flashback to the early days of ska in the video. Enjoy!

The Big Ska Gamble!

Posted in Uncategorized on April 2, 2012 by TonyRad

Who says vinyl is dead?!  Probably the same crazy people that say ska is dead!  Proving that neither is dead, one of our friends here at Checkered Socks Ska, Rad Jose (23min of Ska), is putting together a sweet subscription club of 7″ records by 6 fresh, newer bands around the country.

The basic premise: starting in July, you will receive 2 7″ records, every other month. Six bands are signed up and have already been recording tracks. The only thing left is for people like you to help support these bands and this project.

If you’re interested [and I know I am] you can jump over to the “The Big Ska Gamble!” kickstarter page and read up on the details and make your donation! If you’ve never heard of or used kickstarter, it is a great web site which helps projects build funding before the project takes off.

Bands involved:

  • The Action League – ska/punk from San Luis Obispo, CA
  • Do It With Malice – ska/metal/hardcore punk from Buffalo, NY
  • The Georgetown Orbits – ska, reggae and dub from Seattle, WA
  • Lockstep – reggae punk from Indianapolis, IN
  • The Shifters – rocksteady from Washington D.C.
  • Stop the Presses – ska/surf/punk from Miami, FL

Suburban Legends – Day Job

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , on March 28, 2012 by TonyRad

We’ve been hearing for a long time now that Suburban Legends is going to release a new album. Well, that time is here!

Surburban Legends is releasing their newest album, Day Job, April 3rd. I’ve been looking forward to this album since I first caught wind of it and I’m very ready to hear it. For the past couple albums, SL has been playing around with some other sounds such as funk, disco, and pop rock but Day Job is being announced as a full ska album.

If you are as excited for this as I am, you can pick up the pre-release packages at their online merch table, or just wait until the day to get it.

Just released is the “karaoke” music video for “Just Be Happy” which makes me happy with it’s good ska feel. Give it a listen!

Day Job – Track List:

  1. Emergency
  2. Open Your Eyes
  3. Love Fair
  4. Whoa
  5. Dude Alert
  6. My Friend
  7. I Just Can’t Wait to Be King
  8. Snack Break
  9. Just Be Happy
  10. Take the Next Step
  11. Arigato
  12. Your Girlfriend’s Pretty
  13. Under the Sea
  14. Can’t Stop It

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.